CHELMSFORD SCHOOL COMMITTEE REGULAR MEETING April 4, 2019 Meeting Minutes

Members Present:	Mr. Dennis King, Mr. John Moses, Ms. Donna Newcomb, and Ms. Maria Santos. Mr. Allen Thomas was absent.
Also Present:	Dr. Jay Lang (Superintendent) and Dr. Linda Hirsch (Assistant Superintendent)

Dr. Lang called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m. and recognized the school committee members in attendance. He congratulated Mr. Moses and Ms. Santos on their recent election to the school committee. Those in attendance stood for the pledge of allegiance.

Dr. Lang informed the members present that the purpose of the meeting was to reorganize and elect a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary for the coming year. After the nomination and election of the Chair, Dr. Lang indicated he would be turning the meeting over to the newly elected Chair for nomination and election of a Vice-Chair and Secretary.

New Business

1.) Election of School Committee Chair

Mr. John Moses made a motion, seconded by Ms. Donna Newcomb, to nominate Mr. Dennis King to serve as the Chair of the Chelmsford School Committee for the coming term. On a voice vote, all members voted in the affirmative. Mr. Dennis King was elected to serve as the Chair of the Chelmsford School Committee (Approved 4-0).

Dr. Lang turned the meeting over to the Chair King.

2.) Election of School Committee Vice-Chair

Ms. Donna Newcomb made a motion, seconded by Ms. Maria Santos, to nominate Mr. John Moses to serve as the Vice-Chair of the Chelmsford School Committee for the coming term. On a voice vote, all members voted in the affirmative. Mr. John Moses was elected to serve as the Vice-Chair of the Chelmsford School Committee (Approved 4-0).

3.) Election of School Committee Secretary

Ms. Donna Newcomb made a motion, seconded by Mr. John Moses, to nominate Ms. Maria Santos to serve as the Secretary of the Chelmsford School Committee for the coming term. On a voice vote, all members voted in the affirmative. Ms. Maria Santos was elected to serve as the Secretary of the Chelmsford School Committee (Approved 4-0).

Chair King entertained a motion by Mr. John Moses, seconded by Ms. Donna Newcomb, to adjourn the meeting at 5:20 p.m. On a voice vote, all members voted in the affirmative (Approved 4-0).

The meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Jay Lang, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools

> School Committee Approved April 9, 2019